Our fourth annual pole dance competition – The Pole Factor – was held on Saturday December 1st and once again left audiences absolutely gobsmacked. From dancing dinosaurs to coy cow girls, our categories of artiste, provocateur and duets saw pole dancers on top form bringing a myriad of motifs to the stage, and our panel of treasured judges had the tough task of assessing each performance and ultimately choosing our winners.

Congratulations are in order to everyone who got up on that stage, danced their hearts out and left it all on stage. We know how much prep and sweat goes into each routine and it’s all over so quickly after 4 minutes! We are so proud of you all! But what we’re even more proud of can really only be seen backstage, where dancers – even those competing against each other in the same category – help each other out with things like make-up, hair and costume prep. The pole community has proven time and time again to be a close-knit tribe of the most supportive, genuine and warm-hearted peeps; and for this we thank you again.

Let us assure you that assessing our competitors is no easy task and each year it only seems to get harder, so our judges have to be helluva experienced and, naturally, at the top of their game. This year we would like to thank our local superstars Cezanne Carstens and Chester Martinez, as well as our international ensemble – Daria Che, Kris Shten and Tracey Ecclestone. Y’all have no idea how much we appreciate your time, your expertise and your support!

To our 2018 sponsors, you’ve allowed us to offer our dancers some of the most valuable prizes to date:- yummy nibbles by Fria’s Superfoods to keep our dancers going, internationally certified PolePro instructor courses so that our dancers can continue their journey of being the best that they can be. And best of all, automatic entry into the 2019 IPC semi-finals for our highest scoring champions in the solo and duets divisions… WOW. Much appreciated 🙂

Once again, we had a duo of outstanding MCs this year! Grant Quickly and Tom Shackle – our 007-like ringmasters who entertained crowds between performances, who went from composed to comedy in a matter of seconds, and who attempted to take on the professionals with a duet performance to ‘I’m too sexy’… what can we say, you gave it a go… and what a jolly good show!

Thank you both.

To the Pole Factor crew, and the friendly professional folk at Joseph Stone Auditorium… who helped out backstage and front of house and ensured things ran smoothly, we couldn’t have done it without any of you! So here’s a special shout out to Zahraa Dollie, Tammy Gerber, Dani van Zyl, Heidi Lin, Lee Goliath, Elizabeth de Vos, Francois du Toit, Tarryn Zeeman and Stacey Shield.

Of course, we wouldn’t have an event without an audience! We appreciate the support in and outside of the pole community. Thank you to everyone who came to watch, your whoops and cheers certainly kept the competitors going!

And finally, our 2018 winners are-

Pole Artiste (amateur)

  • 1st place: Lauren Nesbitt (The Pole Project)
  • 2nd place: Charne Swanepoel (Vertical Secrets)

Pole Artiste (professional)

  • 1st place: Anel van der Walt (The Pole Project)
  • 2nd place: Hedwig Shackle (Wild Flow Pole Movement)

Pole Provocateur (amateur)

  • 1st place: Vanya Keren (The Pole Project)
  • 2nd place: Emily Suttle (The Scar-Lit Box)

Pole Provocateur (professional)

  • 1st place: Genevieve Eyre (The Scar-Lit Box)
  • 2nd place: Robyn Khoury (The Pole Project)

Pole Duets

  • 1st place: Sonja & Charly (Pole Fitness Swakopmund)
  • 2nd place: Leigh & Robynn (The Pole Project)

And our highest scoring IPC Champions?

Anel van der Walt from the solo division and Sonja and Charly from the duet division.

Well done polekats!!!


To catch more of the action, you can check out the videos on our YouTube channel here!


Make sure you follow @thepoleproject and @thepolefactor on Facebook, @thepoleproject on Twitter, @thepoleproject on Instagram and #ThePoleFactor across social media so you don’t miss 2019.


* Images are the handywork of Nardus Engelbrecht & Graeme Essen *